

Minutes of Regular Meeting

The Board of Directors South Texas ISD

A Special Called Meeting of the Board of Directors of South Texas ISD was held on November 17, 2020 beginning at 7:00 PM and was conducted via Video/Audio Conference Pursuant to Governor Greg Abbott's Temporary Suspension of Open Meetings Laws issued on March 16, 2020. The board meeting was audible to the Board and public and allowed for two-way communication.

1. Welcome.

Doug Buchanan, Board President, welcomed the guests, staff and fellow Board members.

2. Pledges of Allegiance & District Call to Action.

The pledges were led by Board President Doug Buchanan.

3. Moment of Silence.

The Board held a moment of silence, remembering Becky Villarreal's Husband; Javier Farias' mom, Mrs. Olga Farias; Yolanda Kamel's father, Mr. Antonio Trad and the Quintanilla family for their recent loss.

4. Board Meeting called to order.

The meeting was called to order by Board President Doug Buchanan at 7:09 p.m. at which time he was assured by Superintendent, Dr. Marco A. Lara, Jr. that notices of the meeting were posted properly according to the laws of Texas and that a quorum of the board was present.

The following board members participated remotely:		
Douglas E. Buchanan	Raymondville	
Abiel J. Cantú	Raymondville	
Eduardo L. "Larry" Cantu	Los Fresnos	
Martin Castillo, DC	Edinburg	
Sasha Crane	McAllen	
Javier Farias	McAllen	
Richard Fleming, MD	Mission	
Adrian Garcia	Brownsville	
Sylvia Sanchez Garza, Ph.D.	Edinburg	

Hector Gonzales Lyford Henry LeVrier Brownsville Sylvia S. Lopez Brownsville Ricardo Ochoa, M.D. Weslaco David Torres Edinburg Irma Perez-Treviño Harlingen Israel G. Quintanilla Raymondville Jaime R. Solis Edinburg Mission Natividad Sosa Rick Villarreal, D.D.S. Brownsville Ruth Villarreal Mission

The following Board members were absent:	
Margarita Garcia	San Juan
Robert J. Lerma	Brownsville
Yolanda Kamel	McAllen
Eduardo Roberto Rodriguez	Brownsville

The following staff members participated remotely: Marco Antonio Lara, Jr., Ed.D. Jeff Hembree Marla R. Knaub Sonia E. Rodriguez Ramon Longoria

The following guests participated remotely: Honorable Eddie Treviño, Jr. – Cameron County Judge Honorable Aurelio "Keter" Guerra – Willacy County Judge Honorable Richard F. Cortez – Hidalgo County Judge

5. Action: Receive and declare the results of the November 3, 2020 election from the County Commissioners' Court from Hidalgo County.

Board President Doug Buchanan reported on the election results of the November 3, 2020 Election which were canvassed by the Hidalgo County Commissioners' Court. The following election results were declared:

Hidalgo County Commissioners' Precinct 1:	
Ricardo Ochoa, MD	
Homero Garcia	
Hidalgo County Commissioners' Precinct 3: Natividad "Nati" Sosa Ashwin George	

A motion was made by Dr. Castillo, seconded by Mr. Farias, approving the November 3, 2020 election results as presented. The motion passed unanimously.

6. Receipt of appointments of directors at large to the South Texas ISD Board of Directors from Hidalgo and Cameron County Judges.

Board President Doug Buchanan reported receiving in writing from the Hidalgo County Judge, Richard F. Cortez, the at-large Hidalgo County appointments to the South Texas ISD Board of Directors (four-year term starting November, 2020 and ending November, 2024). The following board members were appointed: Sasha Crane, Ruth Villarreal, Sylvia S. Garza, Ph.D. and David Torres

In addition, we received in writing from the Cameron County Judge Eddie Treviño, Jr. the at-large Cameron County appointments to the South Texas ISD Board of Directors (four-year term starting November, 2020 and ending November, 2024): The following board members were appointed: Adrian Garcia and Henry LeVrier.

7. Report on the Statement of Officer Oath filed in our office for the newly elected/appointed Board members.

Board President Doug Buchanan reported having received a signed Statement of Officer Oath prior to taking office and are filed in the district's office for the following: Sasha Crane, Adrian Garcia, Sylvia S. Garza, Ph.D., Hector Gonzales, Henry LeVrier, Sylvia S. Lopez, Ricardo Ochoa, MD, Natividad Sosa, David Torres, Irma Perez-Treviño, Israel G. Quintanilla and Ruth Villarreal.

8. Administer Oath of Office for newly elected and newly appointed Board Members.

The Honorable Richard F. Cortez, Hidalgo County Judge, officiated the Oath of Office for the following individuals: Ricardo Ochoa, MD, Natividad Sosa, Sasha Crane, Sylvia Sanchez Garza, Ph.D., David Torres and Ruth Villarreal.

The Honorable Eddie Treviño, Jr., Cameron County Judge, officiated the Oath of Office for the following individuals: Sylvia S. Lopez, Irma Perez-Treviño, Henry LeVrier and Adrian Garcia.

The Honorable Aurelio "Keter" Guerra, Willacy County Judge, officiated the Oath of Office for the following individuals: Hector Gonzales and Israel G. Quintanilla.

9. Public Comments for Agenda Topics.

The Board did not receive requests to address the Board of Directors on agenda topics for this meeting.

- 10. Action: Review and act on the following payment applications:
 - A. Payment application #4 to Gomez Mendez Saenz, Inc. for the Edinburg Bus Barn/Maintenance Facility project.
 - B. Payment application #2 to Gomez, Mendez, Saenz Inc. for the Science Academy CATE Renovation project.
 - C. Payment application #3 to D. Wilson Construction for the Edinburg Bus Barn/Maintenance Facility project.

- D. Payment applications #1 & #2 to Gerlach Builders for the Science Academy CATE Renovation project.
- E. Payment application #1 to Gonzalez Enterprise for the Preparatory Parking Lot Expansion project.
- F. Payment application #2 to Gomez Mendez Saenz, Inc. for the Preparatory Parking Lot Expansion project.
- G. Payment application #1 to Gignac Architects for the New Central Office Building Renovation project.

A motion was made by Dr. Villarreal, seconded by Dr. Garza, approving the following application for payments for the projects as presented:

- Payment application #4 to Gomez Mendez Saenz, Inc. in the amount of \$1,872 for the Edinburg Bus Barn/Maintenance Facility project;
- Payment application #2 to Gomez, Mendez, Saenz Inc. in the amount of \$1,821.15 for the Science Academy CATE Renovation project;
- Payment application #3 to D. Wilson Construction in the amount of \$105,478.50 for the Edinburg Bus Barn/Maintenance Facility project;
- Payment applications #1 in the amount of \$50,897.05 & application for payment #2 in the amount of \$65,577.08 to Gerlach Builders for the Science Academy CATE Renovation project;
- Payment application #1 to Gonzalez Enterprise in the amount of \$36,698.12 for the Preparatory Parking Lot Expansion project;
- Payment application #2 to Gomez Mendez Saenz, Inc. in the amount of \$579.80 for the Preparatory Parking Lot Expansion project; and
- Payment application #1 to Gignac Architects in the amount of \$52,448.18 for the New Central Office Building Renovation project.

The motion passed unanimously.

11. Action: Review and act on Change Order #1 to the betterment fund for the Preparatory Academy Parking Lot Expansion Project.

A motion was made by Mr. LeVrier, seconded by Dr. Garza, approving the Change Order #1 to the betterment fund in the amount of \$4,403.50 for the Preparatory Academy Parking Lot Expansion project as presented. The motion passed unanimously.

12. Adjournment.

A motion was made by Mr. Gonzales, seconded by Mrs. Lopez, adjourning the board meeting at 7:40 p.m. The motion passed unanimously.