Board of Directors

The 24-member STISD Board of Directors leads the district with a focus on always putting students first.

The STISD Board of Directors is comprised of 24 members from Cameron, Hidalgo and Willacy Counties, making it the largest school board in the nation.

Each county has four elected positions representing each County Commissioner’s Precinct. In addition, each county judge appoints a member for every 100,000 people. Elections for the board are held the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November on a biennial basis.

Meetings are open to the public and held on the fourth Tuesday of every month at 7:00 p.m. except for the month of December.

Click here to access the 2021 Report on Continuing Education Credits met by Board Members

Click here to access our STISD Board POLICY

Board Member Douglas Buchanan

Doug Buchanan
President
Raymondville 
doug.buchanan@stisd.net
Elected -
Willacy County Pct. 4
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Expires: Nov. 2022

Board Member Henry LeVrier

Henry LeVrier
Vice President
Brownsville
henry.levrier@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Sylvia Sanchez Garza, Ph.D., smiling

Sylvia Sánchez Garza, Ph.D.
Secretary
Edinburg
sylvia.garza@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Abiel J. Cantu

Abiel J. Cantú
Raymondville
abiel.cantu@stisd.net
Elected –
Willacy County Pct. 1
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Larry Cantu

E. Larry Cantu
Los Fresnos 
eduardo.cantu@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 3
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Dr. Martin Castillo

Martin Castillo, Jr., D.C.
Edinburg
martin.castillo@stisd.net
Elected –
Hidalgo County Pct. 4
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board Member Sasha Crane

Sasha Crane
McAllen
sasha.crane@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Javier Farias smiling

Javier Farias
 McAllen
javier.farias@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Dr. Richard Fleming

Richard Fleming, M.D.
Mission
richard.fleming@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board Member Adrian Garcia

Adrian Garcia
Brownsville  
adrian.garcia@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board Member Margarita Garcia

Margarita Garcia 
San Juan
margarita.garcia@stisd.net
Elected –
Hidalgo County Pct. 2
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board Member Hector Gonzales

Hector Gonzales
Lyford  
hector.gonzales@stisd.net
Elected –
Willacy County Pct. 3
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Yolanda Kamel smiling

Yolanda Kamel
McAllen
yolanda.kamel@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2019
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board Member Robert Lerma

Robert J. Lerma
Brownsville 
bobby.lerma@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 1
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board Member Sylvia Lopez

Sylvia Lopez
Brownsville 
sylvia.lopez@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 2
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Ricardo Ochoa, M.D. - STISD Board Member

Ricardo Ochoa, MD
Weslaco
Ricardo.Ochoa@stisd.net
Elected -
Hidalgo County Pct. 1
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Irma Perez Trevino smiling

Irma Perez-Treviño
Harlingen
irma.perez-trevino@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 4
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board Member Israel Quintanilla

Israel G. Quintanilla 
Raymondville
israel.quintanilla@stisd.net
Elected –
Willacy County Pct. 2
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board Member Eduardo Roberto Rodriguez

Eduardo Roberto Rodriguez 
Brownsville
eduardo.rodriguez@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board Member Jaime Solis

Jaime Solis 
Edinburg
jaime.solis@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Natividad Sosa

Natividad "Nati" Sosa
Mission
nati.sosa@stisd.net
Elected –
Hidalgo County Pct. 3
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member David Torres

David Torres
Edinburg
david.torres@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board Member Dr. Rick Villarreal

Rick Villarreal, D.D.S.
Brownsville 
rick.villarreal@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board Member Ruth Villarreal

Ruth Villarreal
Mission
ruth.villarreal@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, May 1
Mon, May 2
Tue, May 3
Wed, May 4
Thu, May 5
Fri, May 6
Sat, May 7
Sun, May 8
Mon, May 9
Tue, May 10
Wed, May 11
Thu, May 12
Fri, May 13
Sat, May 14
Sun, May 15
Mon, May 16
Tue, May 17
Wed, May 18
Thu, May 19
Fri, May 20
Sat, May 21
Sun, May 22
Mon, May 23
Tue, May 24
Subscribe to Alerts Meeting of the STISD Board of Directors
-
Biblioteca Las Americas (Mercedes)
Wed, May 25
Thu, May 26
Fri, May 27
Sat, May 28
Sun, May 29
Mon, May 30
Tue, May 31
Wed, Jun 1
Thu, Jun 2
Fri, Jun 3
Sat, Jun 4