Board of Directors

The 24-member STISD Board of Directors leads the district with a focus on always putting students first.

The STISD Board of Directors is comprised of 24 members from Cameron, Hidalgo and Willacy Counties, making it the largest school board in the nation.

Each county has four elected positions representing each County Commissioner’s Precinct. In addition, each county judge appoints a member for every 100,000 people. Elections for the board are held the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November on a biennial basis.

Meetings are open to the public and held on the fourth Tuesday of every month at 7:00 p.m. except for the month of December.

Click here to access the 2022 Report on Continuing Education Credits met by Board Members

Click here to access our STISD Board POLICY

Board Member Henry LeVrier

Henry LeVrier
President
Brownsville
henry.levrier@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Sylvia Sanchez Garza, Ph.D., smiling

Sylvia Sánchez Garza, Ph.D.
Vice President
Edinburg
sylvia.garza@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board Member Israel Quintanilla

Israel G. Quintanilla 
Secretary
Raymondville
israel.quintanilla@stisd.net
Elected –
Willacy County Pct. 2
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

STISD Board Member David Briones

David Briones
La Feria
david.briones@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 4
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board Member Douglas Buchanan

Doug Buchanan
Raymondville 
doug.buchanan@stisd.net
Elected -
Willacy County Pct. 4
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Expires: Nov. 2026

Board member Abiel J. Cantu

Abiel J. Cantú
Raymondville
abiel.cantu@stisd.net
Elected –
Willacy County Pct. 1
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board member Larry Cantu

E. Larry Cantu
Los Fresnos 
eduardo.cantu@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 3
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board Member Sasha Crane

Sasha Crane
McAllen
sasha.crane@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Javier Farias smiling

Javier Farias
 McAllen
javier.farias@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board Member Adrian Garcia

Adrian Garcia
Brownsville  
adrian.garcia@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board Member Margarita Garcia

Margarita Garcia 
San Juan
margarita.garcia@stisd.net
Elected –
Hidalgo County Pct. 2
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board Member Hector Gonzales

Hector Gonzales
Lyford  
hector.gonzales@stisd.net
Elected –
Willacy County Pct. 3
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Yolanda Kamel smiling

Yolanda Kamel
McAllen
yolanda.kamel@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board Member Robert Lerma

Robert J. Lerma
Brownsville 
bobby.lerma@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 1
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board Member Sylvia Lopez

Sylvia Lopez
Brownsville 
sylvia.lopez@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 2
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Ricardo Ochoa, M.D. - STISD Board Member

Ricardo Ochoa, MD
Weslaco
Ricardo.Ochoa@stisd.net
Elected -
Hidalgo County Pct. 1
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Rudy Ramirez Photo for Website

Rodolfo "Rudy" Ramirez
Edinburg
rudy.ramirez@stisd.net
Elected –
Hidalgo County Pct. 4
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board Member Eduardo Roberto Rodriguez

Eduardo Roberto Rodriguez 
Brownsville
eduardo.rodriguez@
stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

STISD Board Member Beto Salinas

Norberto "Beto" Salinas
Mission
beto.salinas@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board Member Jaime Solis

Jaime Solis 
Edinburg
jaime.solis@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board member Natividad Sosa

Natividad "Nati" Sosa
Mission
nati.sosa@stisd.net
Elected –
Hidalgo County Pct. 3
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member David Torres

David Torres
Edinburg
david.torres@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board Member Dr. Rick Villarreal

Rick Villarreal, D.D.S.
Brownsville 
rick.villarreal@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board Member Ruth Villarreal

Ruth Villarreal
Mission
ruth.villarreal@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Jan 1
Mon, Jan 2
Tue, Jan 3
Wed, Jan 4
Thu, Jan 5
Fri, Jan 6
Sat, Jan 7
Sun, Jan 8
Mon, Jan 9
Tue, Jan 10
Wed, Jan 11
Thu, Jan 12
Fri, Jan 13
Sat, Jan 14
Sun, Jan 15
Mon, Jan 16
Tue, Jan 17
Wed, Jan 18
Thu, Jan 19
Fri, Jan 20
Sat, Jan 21
Sun, Jan 22
Mon, Jan 23
Tue, Jan 24
Meeting of the STISD Board of Directors
-
Biblioteca Las Americas (BLA), 100 Med High Dr., Mercedes
Wed, Jan 25
Thu, Jan 26
Fri, Jan 27
Sat, Jan 28
Sun, Jan 29
Mon, Jan 30
Tue, Jan 31
Wed, Feb 1
Thu, Feb 2
Fri, Feb 3
Sat, Feb 4