Board of Directors

The 24-member STISD Board of Directors leads the district with a focus on always putting students first.

The STISD Board of Directors is comprised of 24 members from Cameron, Hidalgo and Willacy Counties, making it the largest school board in the nation.

Each county has four elected positions representing each County Commissioner’s Precinct. In addition, each county judge appoints a member for every 100,000 people. Elections for the board are held the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November on a biennial basis.

Meetings are open to the public and held on the fourth Tuesday of every month at 7:00 p.m. except for the month of December.

Click here to access the 2023 Report on Continuing Education Credits met by Board Members

Click here to access our STISD Board POLICY

Board Member Henry LeVrier

Henry LeVrier
President
Brownsville
henry.levrier@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Sylvia Sanchez Garza, Ph.D., smiling

Sylvia Sánchez Garza, Ph.D.
Vice President
Edinburg
sylvia.garza@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board Member Israel Quintanilla

Israel G. Quintanilla 
Secretary
Raymondville
israel.quintanilla@stisd.net
Elected –
Willacy County Pct. 2
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

STISD Board Member David Briones

David Briones
La Feria
david.briones@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 4
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board Member Douglas Buchanan

Doug Buchanan
Raymondville 
doug.buchanan@stisd.net
Elected -
Willacy County Pct. 4
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Expires: Nov. 2026

Board member Abiel J. Cantu

Abiel J. Cantú
Raymondville
abiel.cantu@stisd.net
Elected –
Willacy County Pct. 1
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board member Larry Cantu

E. Larry Cantu
Los Fresnos 
eduardo.cantu@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 3
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board Member Sasha Crane

Sasha Crane
McAllen
sasha.crane@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Javier Farias smiling

Javier Farias
 McAllen
javier.farias@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board Member Adrian Garcia

Adrian Garcia
Brownsville  
adrian.garcia@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board Member Margarita Garcia

Margarita Garcia 
San Juan
margarita.garcia@stisd.net
Elected –
Hidalgo County Pct. 2
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Headshot photo of board member Dr. Noel Garza

Noel Garza, D.D.S.
Mission
noel.garza@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: July 2023
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board Member Hector Gonzales

Hector Gonzales
Lyford  
hector.gonzales@stisd.net
Elected –
Willacy County Pct. 3
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Yolanda Kamel smiling

Yolanda Kamel
McAllen
yolanda.kamel@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board Member Robert Lerma

Robert J. Lerma
Brownsville 
bobby.lerma@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 1
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board Member Sylvia Lopez

Sylvia Lopez
Brownsville 
sylvia.lopez@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 2
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Headshot photo of board member Dr. Sandra Garza Ochoa

Sandra Garza Ochoa, Ph.D.
Weslaco
sandra.ochoa@stisd.net
Elected –
Hidalgo County Pct. 1
Term Began: July 2023
Term Ends: Nov. 2024 (remainder of the unexpired term)

Board member Rudy Ramirez

Rodolfo "Rudy" Ramirez
Edinburg
rudy.ramirez@stisd.net
Elected –
Hidalgo County Pct. 4
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board Member Eduardo Roberto Rodriguez

Eduardo Roberto Rodriguez 
Brownsville
eduardo.rodriguez@
stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board Member Jaime Solis

Jaime Solis 
Edinburg
jaime.solis@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Vacancy
Elected –
Hidalgo County Pct. 3
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member David Torres

David Torres
Edinburg
david.torres@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board Member Dr. Rick Villarreal

Rick Villarreal, D.D.S.
Brownsville 
rick.villarreal@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2022
Term Ends: Nov. 2026

Board Member Ruth Villarreal

Ruth Villarreal
Mission
ruth.villarreal@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, May 26
Mon, May 27
Tue, May 28
Meeting of the STISD Board of Directors
-
STISD Teaching & Learning Center (7001 E. Expressway 83, Mercedes)
Wed, May 29
Thu, May 30
Fri, May 31
Sat, Jun 1
Sun, Jun 2
Mon, Jun 3
Tue, Jun 4
Wed, Jun 5
Thu, Jun 6
Fri, Jun 7
Sat, Jun 8
Sun, Jun 9
Mon, Jun 10
Tue, Jun 11
Wed, Jun 12
Thu, Jun 13
Fri, Jun 14
Sat, Jun 15
Sun, Jun 16
Mon, Jun 17
Tue, Jun 18
Meeting of the STISD Board of Directors
-
STISD Teaching & Learning Center (7001 E. Expressway 83, Mercedes)
Wed, Jun 19
Thu, Jun 20
Fri, Jun 21
Sat, Jun 22
Sun, Jun 23
Mon, Jun 24
Tue, Jun 25
Wed, Jun 26
Thu, Jun 27
Fri, Jun 28
Sat, Jun 29
Sun, Jun 30
Mon, Jul 1
Tue, Jul 2
Wed, Jul 3
Thu, Jul 4
Fri, Jul 5
Sat, Jul 6