Skip To Main Content

Board of Directors

The 24-member STISD Board of Directors leads the district with a focus on always putting students first.

The STISD Board of Directors is comprised of 24 members from Cameron, Hidalgo and Willacy Counties, making it the largest school board in the nation.

Each county has four elected positions representing each County Commissioner’s Precinct. In addition, each county judge appoints a member for every 100,000 people. Elections for the board are held the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November on a biennial basis.

Meetings are open to the public and held on the fourth Tuesday of every month at 7:00 p.m. except for the month of December.

Click here to access our STISD Board POLICY

Board member Doug Buchanan smiling

Doug Buchanan
President
Raymondville 
doug.buchanan@stisd.net
Elected -
Willacy County Pct. 4
Term Began: Nov. 2018 |
Term Expires: Nov. 2022

Board member Yolanda Cuellar smiling

Yolanda Cuellar
Vice President
Progreso Lakes
yolanda.cuellar@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2016
Term Ends: Nov. 2020

Board member Henry LeVrier smiling

Henry LeVrier
Secretary
Brownsville
henry.levrier@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2016
Term Ends: Nov. 2020

Board member Grace Camargo smiling

Graciela Camargo
Weslaco 
grace.camargo@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2016
Term Ends: Nov. 2020

Board member Abiel Cantu smiling

Abiel J. Cantú
Raymondville
abiel.cantu@stisd.net
Elected –
Willacy County Pct. 1
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Larry Cantu smiling

E. Larry Cantu
Los Fresnos 
eduardo.cantu@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 3
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Dr. Martin Castillo smiling

Martin Castillo, Jr., D.C.
Edinburg
martin.castillo@stisd.net
Elected –
Hidalgo County Pct. 4
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Javier Farias smiling

Javier Farias
 McAllen
javier.farias@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Dr. Richard Fleming smiling

Richard Fleming, M.D.
Mission
richard.fleming@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Adrian Garcia smiling

Adrian Garcia
Brownsville  
adrian.garcia@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2016
Term Ends: Nov. 2020

Board member Homero Garcia smiling

Homero Garcia 
Weslaco
homero.garcia@stisd.net
Elected –
Hidalgo County Pct. 1
Term Began: Nov. 2016
Term Ends: Nov. 2020   

Board member Margarita Garcia smiling

Margarita Garcia 
San Juan
margarita.garcia@stisd.net
Elected –
Hidalgo County Pct. 2
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Sylvia Sanchez Garza, Ph.D., smiling

Sylvia Sánchez Garza, Ph.D.
Edinburg
sylvia.garza@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2016
Term Ends: Nov. 2020

Board member Hector Gonzales smiling

Hector Gonzales
Lyford  
hector.gonzales@stisd.net
Elected –
Willacy County Pct. 3
Term Began: Nov. 2016
Term Ends: Nov. 2020

Board member Yolanda Kamel smiling

Yolanda Kamel
McAllen
yolanda.kamel@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2019
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Robert Lerma smiling

Robert J. Lerma
Brownsville 
bobby.lerma@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 1
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Sylvia Lopez smiling

Sylvia Lopez
Brownsville 
sylvia.lopez@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 2
Term Began: Nov. 2016
Term Ends: Nov. 2020

Board member Ramon Montalvo smiling

Ramon Montalvo, III
Weslaco
ramon.montalvo@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2016
Term Ends: Nov. 2020

Board member Irma Perez Trevino smiling

Irma Perez-Treviño
Harlingen
irma.perez-trevino@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 4
Term Began: Nov. 2016
Term Ends: Nov. 2020

Board member Israel Quintanilla smiling

Israel G. Quintanilla 
Raymondville
israel.quintanilla@stisd.net
Elected –
Willacy County Pct. 2
Term Began: Nov. 2016
Term Ends: Nov. 2020

Board member Eduardo Rodriguez smiling

Eduardo Roberto Rodriguez 
Brownsville
eduardo.rodriguez@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Jaime Solis smiling

 Jaime Solis 
Edinburg
jaime.solis@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Rebecca Villarreal smiling

Becky Villarreal 
Peñitas 
rebecca.villarreal@stisd.net
Elected –
Hidalgo County Pct. 3
Term Began: Nov. 2016
Term Ends: Nov. 2020

Board member Dr. Rick Villarreal smiling

Rick Villarreal, D.D.S.
Brownsville 
rick.villarreal@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, May 31
Mon, Jun 1
Tue, Jun 2
Wed, Jun 3
Thu, Jun 4
Fri, Jun 5
Sat, Jun 6
Sun, Jun 7
Mon, Jun 8
Tue, Jun 9
Wed, Jun 10
Thu, Jun 11
Fri, Jun 12
Sat, Jun 13
Sun, Jun 14
Mon, Jun 15
Tue, Jun 16
Wed, Jun 17
Thu, Jun 18
Fri, Jun 19
Sat, Jun 20
Sun, Jun 21
Mon, Jun 22
Tue, Jun 23
Subscribe to Alerts Meeting of the STISD Board of Directors
-
Biblioteca Las Americas
Wed, Jun 24
Thu, Jun 25
Fri, Jun 26
Sat, Jun 27
Sun, Jun 28
Mon, Jun 29
Tue, Jun 30
Wed, Jul 1
Thu, Jul 2
Fri, Jul 3
Sat, Jul 4