Board of Directors

The 24-member STISD Board of Directors leads the district with a focus on always putting students first.

The STISD Board of Directors is comprised of 24 members from Cameron, Hidalgo and Willacy Counties, making it the largest school board in the nation.

Each county has four elected positions representing each County Commissioner’s Precinct. In addition, each county judge appoints a member for every 100,000 people. Elections for the board are held the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November on a biennial basis.

Meetings are open to the public and held on the fourth Tuesday of every month at 7:00 p.m. except for the month of December.

Click here to access our STISD Board POLICY

Board member Doug Buchanan smiling

Doug Buchanan
President
Raymondville 
doug.buchanan@stisd.net
Elected -
Willacy County Pct. 4
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Expires: Nov. 2022

Board member Henry LeVrier smiling

Henry LeVrier
Vice President
Brownsville
henry.levrier@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Sylvia Sanchez Garza, Ph.D., smiling

Sylvia Sanchez Garza, Ph.D.
Secretary
Edinburg
sylvia.garza@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Abiel Cantu smiling

Abiel J. Cantú
Raymondville
abiel.cantu@stisd.net
Elected –
Willacy County Pct. 1
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Larry Cantu smiling

E. Larry Cantu
Los Fresnos 
eduardo.cantu@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 3
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Dr. Martin Castillo smiling

Martin Castillo, Jr., D.C.
Edinburg
martin.castillo@stisd.net
Elected –
Hidalgo County Pct. 4
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Sasha Crane- STISD Board Member

Sasha Crane
McAllen
sasha.crane@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Javier Farias smiling

Javier Farias
 McAllen
javier.farias@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Dr. Richard Fleming smiling

Richard Fleming, M.D.
Mission
richard.fleming@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Adrian Garcia smiling

Adrian Garcia
Brownsville  
adrian.garcia@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Margarita Garcia smiling

Margarita Garcia 
San Juan
margarita.garcia@stisd.net
Elected –
Hidalgo County Pct. 2
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Hector Gonzales smiling

Hector Gonzales
Lyford  
hector.gonzales@stisd.net
Elected –
Willacy County Pct. 3
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Yolanda Kamel smiling

Yolanda Kamel
McAllen
yolanda.kamel@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2019
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Robert Lerma smiling

Robert J. Lerma
Brownsville 
bobby.lerma@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 1
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Sylvia Lopez smiling

Sylvia Lopez
Brownsville 
sylvia.lopez@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 2
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Ricardo Ochoa, M.D. - STISD Board Member

Ricardo Ochoa, MD
Weslaco
ricardo.ochoa@stisd.net
Elected -
Hidalgo County Pct. 1
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Irma Perez Trevino smiling

Irma Perez-Treviño
Harlingen
irma.perez-trevino@stisd.net
Elected –
Cameron County Pct. 4
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Israel Quintanilla smiling

Israel G. Quintanilla 
Raymondville
israel.quintanilla@stisd.net
Elected –
Willacy County Pct. 2
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Eduardo Rodriguez smiling

Eduardo Roberto Rodriguez 
Brownsville
eduardo.rodriguez@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Board member Jaime Solis smiling

Jaime Solis 
Edinburg
jaime.solis@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Natividad Sosa - STISD Board Member

Natividad "Nati" Sosa
Mission
nati.sosa@stisd.net
Elected –
Hidalgo County Pct. 3
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

David Torres, STISD Board Member

David Torres
Edinburg
david.torres@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Board member Dr. Rick Villarreal smiling

Rick Villarreal, D.D.S.
Brownsville 
rick.villarreal@stisd.net
Cameron County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2018
Term Ends: Nov. 2022

Ruth Villarreal - STISD Board Member

Ruth Villarreal
Mission
ruth.villarreal@stisd.net
Hidalgo County
At-Large (appointed)
Term Began: Nov. 2020
Term Ends: Nov. 2024

Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Oct 31
Mon, Nov 1
Tue, Nov 2
Wed, Nov 3
Thu, Nov 4
Fri, Nov 5
Sat, Nov 6
Sun, Nov 7
Mon, Nov 8
Tue, Nov 9
Wed, Nov 10
Thu, Nov 11
Fri, Nov 12
Sat, Nov 13
Sun, Nov 14
Mon, Nov 15
Tue, Nov 16
Wed, Nov 17
Thu, Nov 18
Fri, Nov 19
Sat, Nov 20
Sun, Nov 21
Mon, Nov 22
Tue, Nov 23
Wed, Nov 24
Thu, Nov 25
Fri, Nov 26
Sat, Nov 27
Sun, Nov 28
Mon, Nov 29
Tue, Nov 30
Wed, Dec 1
Thu, Dec 2
Fri, Dec 3
Sat, Dec 4