Chess teams from Rising Scholars and Science Academy earn first place at regional competition

Chess teams from Rising Scholars and Science Academy earn first place at regional competition
Posted on 02/06/2019
This is the image for the news article titled Chess teams from Rising Scholars and Science Academy earn first place at regional competition

Teams from our middle school Rising Scholars Academy of South Texas (Rising Scholars Academy) and high school The Science Academy of South Texas (Science Academy) took first place at the Texas Chess Association (TCA) Regional Chess Championships. 


The middle school regional meet was held Friday through Sunday, January 25-27, at Veterans Memorial Early College High School in Brownsville, and the high school meet was held Saturday, January 26, at Vela High School in Edinburg. 


Two teams represented Rising Scholars Academy at the regional meet: The Championship and JV teams. Within the middle school divisions, there were 21 teams that competed in the Championship Division and 15 teams within the JV Division. 


The Championship team consisted of: Anthony Acevedo, 8th-grader from Brownsville; Ty Anderson, 8th-grader from Harlingen; Ana Balderas, 8th-grader from Brownsville; Juan Borrego, 8th-grader from Brownsville; Raul Marquez, III, 8th-grader from Brownsville; William McNutt, 8th-grader from Harlingen; Johannes Nicart, 8th-grader from Brownsville; Diego Recio, 8th-grader from Brownsville; Rohun Trakru, 7th-grader from Brownsville; Rene Zavier Villarreal, 8th-grader from Rancho Viejo; Richard Zayas, 8th-grader from Brownsville and Kevin Zhou, 7th-grader from Brownsville.


The JV team consisted of: Arturo Caudillo, Jr., 7th-grader from Brownsville; Denise Melendez, 7th-grader from Brownsville; Allison Mireles, 8th-grader from Brownsville; Diego Pruneda, 8th-grader from Brownsville and Jason Zamarripa, 8th-grader from Brownsville. 


Congratulations to the following individual placeholders in the Championship Division: Rohun Trakru, 1st-place; William McNutt, 2nd-place; Anthony Acevedo, 4th-place; Ana Balderas, 9th-place and Kevin Zhou, 14th-place. 


Congratulations to the following individual placeholders in the JV Division: Jason Zamarripa, 2nd-place; Denise Melendez, 11th-place and Diego Pruneda, 12th-place. 


The Science Academy chess team consisted of: Noel Aguilar, 10th-grader from Edinburg; Adolfo Balderas, Jr., 9th-grader from Brownsville; Keith Biteng, 9th-grader from McAllen; Ana Cedillo, 10th-grader from Mission; Swade Chakraborty, 10th-grader from Edinburg; Diego Costa, 9th-grader from Rancho Viejo; Roman Galvan, 9th-grader from San Benito; Devin Gonzales, 9th-grader from Harlingen; Luis Gonzalez, 9th-grader from Brownsville; Jesus Guajardo, 10th-grader from Brownsville; Vivek Keval, 10th-grader from McAllen; Hector Martinez, 10th-grader from Brownsville; Alvaro Da Mayorga, 10th-grader from Mission; Eric Mendoza, Jr., 10th-grader from Edinburg; Jaime Santana, Jr., 9th-grader from San Benito; and Juliet Zapata, 9th-grader from Edinburg. 


Nine members of the Rising Scholars Academy Championship team and three members of the JV team will compete at the 2019 Texas Scholastic Chess Championships to be held March 8-11 in Houston. 


Four members of the Science Academy will compete at the national level March 15-17 at Schaumburg, Illinois. Those students are: Noel Aguilar, Adolfo Balderas, Jr., Diego Costa and Jaime Santana, Jr.